Baby Registries – Part 1

Last year at this time I was working on our Wedding Registry. This year I am working on our Baby Registries!

This fun little journey started a few months ago when I was just looking for something to do while stuck in bed. Of course I had no idea if we were having a girl or a boy so I stuck to picking out a crib and mattress. When we went into the store to look around I scanned in a bunch of items, mainly girl items but some boy items too. My theory was once we found out the baby’s gender I would simply login to the registry and remove the items we didn’t need. And it worked!

After we found out we are have a girl, my sister April and I did a Skype call to go over the Babies “R” Us website and figure out what I would need to add to the registry. Since she just went through this 3 year ago when she had my niece, I could think of no one better to advise me. We went through every item from sheets to lotion, crib bumpers to nail clippers.

Now initially I was going to do the Babies “R” Us registry and a Target registry, but I realized that they have almost the same items but at Babies “R” Us you have better benefits for “after baby”.  Instead I signed up for a Kohls’ baby registry, which earned me a $25 “Kohl’s Cash” type coupon! And Kohl’s is known for putting baby clothes on clearance up to 90% off not including the coupons you can use on top of the clearance.

Let me take a moment to give you a little background here. We live in a one bedroom apartment with limited storage space (i.e. one “walk in” closet). Our bedroom is big enough so the crib, changing table, and a rocking chair will fit nicely. With a little rearranging in the closet and a “cube storage” shelf that I bought when we moved here, all of the baby’s clothes and the cloth diapers will have plenty of space.

You might be thinking, if you have such limited space why get a changing table? It certainly could be left off the list and we would change the baby on the bed, counter, or table. However my husband has no use of his right hand due to his disability, so having a proper changing table with a safety belt will make it easier on him (and my nerves). Also the model we chose gives us extra storage shelves.

Now for my favorite part of this post! I am going to link up some of the items on our registries and give a brief explanation why I chose them. 🙂

__

Babies “R” Us 
Registry # 54000961

The Crib

Thompson 4-in-1 Convertible CRIB With Toddler Rail - Cherry
Thompson 4-in-1 Convertible CRIB With Toddler Rail – Cherry

DaVinci Baby company is one that I dealt with during my time with an online furniture store. Being a convertible crib allows the crib to “grow” with the baby from newborn up to a full size bed (with rails to be purchased separately). The appeal of this particular crib is the toddler rail that is included with the original crib and not needed to be purchased later. In the reviews it seems that the biggest “complaint” is the finish color (which I am not picky about) and the “knicks” (whoop-dee-doo).

The Changing Table

Dream On Me Jessica Changing Table - Cherry
Dream On Me Jessica Changing Table – Cherry 

A nice and simple changing table that will be easy to move when needed (it will be living in front of the door to the water heater). The shelves provide extra storage for diapers, wipes, socks, and anything small that can be put in baskets or mini cubes. Having the finish labeled “Cherry” is a plus, but I’m also not a “matchy-matchy” kind of girl. Meaning all the baby furniture doesn’t need to have the same finish, not even our bedroom furniture all matches.

Bouncer
Fisher-Price My Little Snugapuppy Deluxe Bouncer
Fisher-Price My Little Snugapuppy Deluxe Bouncer

How adorable is this little bouncer? Since space is an issue, April and I determined that just the bouncer would work for us. A swing would be too bulky and if our baby is anything like my niece, she may not be a big fan of it at times. The bouncer you can set on the table and feed the baby or on the floor while you’re watching TV. Also it would be easily transported up to see the grandparents if needed.

Walker
Babies R Us VW Beetle Walker
Babies R Us VW Beetle Walker

When I saw this walker in the store, I knew our baby had to have it! Even since the new VW Beetle was released I have been wishing I could own one. And yes, I am jealous of my brother owning one. Real car wishes aside, a walker is good for the baby to “get around” and burn off some extra energy. I can just see her now… chasing the cat around the living room! If only I could find a way to paint it pink…

Baby Monitor
Summer Infant Baby Wave Deluxe Digital Audio Monitor with Controlled Nightlight & Two-Way Communication
Summer Infant Baby Wave Deluxe Digital Audio Monitor with Controlled Nightlight & Two-Way Communication

Leave a Reply

